Kaladkarin Diaries

Ramblings about food, cooking, recipes, travels, history and walking around Manila.

Bagnet 8065

I’ve stopped writing on my blog for some time, considering I started training with another company which took all of my time. Well, the fact is, I’ve been trying to find an easier way to commute home. And believe me, the first route I tried for a week made me curse Taguig City! The second route was much better though.

So, I’m back with a vengeance. This time I’m featuring a humble place called Bagnet 8065. Good food, memorable place. This is where I used to hang out with the band after a long stressful day from work. For me, guitars, good food and beer is a great way to end a stressful day.

What is bagnet anyway? It’s simply deep-fried pork similar in taste to lechon kawali but it involves a longer more tedious cooking process. It’s also similar as Lechon Macau. The dish originated from the Ilocos Region and has spawned a number of recipe variations from binagoongan to kare-kareng bagnet.

I’ve been here numerous times, but this is the first time I’m blogging this. Bagnet, owned by the brother of local artist Kitchie Nadal. A cozy restaurant in the outskirts of Makati’s busy avenues, It could be away from most establishments, but the place is usually packed. There’s another branch in Leon Guinto near St. Scholastica’s College, which has a music studio on the second floor. We’ve tried the studio numerous times too!


this was taken after our gig in Subic after the summer event in Teletech


a typical photo after a stressful day at work.. beer and bagnet..


Jed and Paul playing the guitars after work with beer and bagnet


Jed and the bass guitar, with spicy ginataang bagnet as his background…

8056 Bagnet offers a variety of bagnet dishes: Bagnet Original, Bagnet Sisig, Bagnet Binagoongan, Bagnet Spicy Ginataan, Bagnet Curry, Bagnet Dinuguan and Bagnet Kare-kare (my personal favorite). You can either order a platter good for two (PHP 170-190) or a budget meal that comes with rice (PHP 100-110).

This time, I went back to Bagnet 8065 with Paul, AJ and Nicole. Aj and Nicole ate before Paul and I got there. We arrived at a later time since I came from Mckinley Hills and Paul came from Ecoplaza. AJ and Nicole came from Makati Med for some reason… If I could remember correctly. That means, they ate twice.. just a disclaimer guys.. THEY ATE TWICE!!!! This was what we ordered…


Binagoongan Bagnet


Spicy Ginataang Bagnet


Kare-Kareng Bagnet


Bagoong Rice

Bagnet Original comes without sauce, with sidings of a few pieces of green mangoes with bagoong. The rest of the dishes come with sauces, but expect the bagnet pieces to still be crunchy. You can pair the bagnet dishes with Ensaladang Talong, Okra with Bagoong or Tortang Talong (around PHP 30). You can also turn your plain rice to Bagoong rice by just adding PHP 10… just like a McDo upgrade. ^_^

I actually made a stupid booboo.. I can’t remember if I was just hungry, or if I was just plain tired. I ate the binagoongang bagnet with bagoong rice! I was supposed to eat the Binagoongang bagnet with plain rice and kare-kareng bagnet with bagoong rice! Paul, Aj and Nicole were laughing at me that time, anyway, I just had to change my plate since both plain and bagoong rice were available at our table.

Either dine inside the dim-lit cafe, or hang out al fresco with the ceramic frog and small pond, if in case you smoke. One thing’s for sure, eating here is worth every cent. ^_^

Bagnet 8065
8065 Estrella St.,
San Antonio Village,
Makati
Tel. No. 5196511
Open Mon-Thu, Sat: 11am – 12mn; Fri & Sun: 11am – 1am

Watch out for more blog reviews… ^_^

4 comments on “Bagnet 8065

  1. Zen
    September 18, 2011

    I think the bagnet capital is in Ilocos. When I went there, the bagnet is a hit among Ilocanos.. Didn't know na meron pala niyan sa makati.. 🙂

    Like

  2. rache
    September 18, 2011

    yep! You are correct! Now you know that there's one place in Makati that offers it.. they have another branch in Leon Guinto, near St. Scholastica's College. ^_^

    Like

  3. kuwait restaurants
    September 21, 2011

    looks yummy! 😛
    nde ko alam na marami palang pwedeng gawin sa bagnet, 'kala ko plain bagnet lang tsaka pansahog ng gulay…. 😀

    Like

  4. rache
    September 23, 2011

    It is yummy.. akala ko rin yun lang ang puede gawin sa bagnet.. pero nagkamali rin ako.. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 17, 2011 by in food, food trips, restaurants and tagged , , , , , , .
