Kaladkarin Diaries

Ramblings about food, cooking, recipes, travels, history and walking around Manila.

Radish Cake (Chai Tao Que)

“Mama, I don’t like to eat vegetables… I’m not a goat!” those were the words I heard from my eldest son, Miles when he was 4 years old during our dinner. Everyone on the table started snickering, some faces even turned red trying to stop themselves from laughing. It’s cute if he wasn’t my kid. I went tiger mom on him, my eyes narrowing and my right eyebrow raised.

That incident made me think… my kid can’t avoid vegetables forever. Then I realized, I used to hate vegetables… especiaĺly green leafy vegetables and radish in my soup. I almost fell off the chair, that’s it. I started to eat vegetables or at least tried eating them when my ahma made chay tao que (radish cake). I can’t guarantee my kid to love or at least give vegetables a chance, but it was worth a try. Apples don’t fall too far from a tree, right?!

I made a batch of chay tao que at home and with two choices of dipping sauce… ketchup and garlic mayo. Of course I didn’t tell him it was made of raddish! He would have ean out of the house before I finish my sentence.

Well, my plan was a success! He ate the radish cake and when I told him it was made from radish, he just stared at me for about almost a minute… then told me it wasn’t so bad. He still avoided veggies like plague until I out him under martial law at home- no video games or tv!!!

Here’s the recipe for chay tao que (radish cake):

Ingredients:

1 kg Chinese white radish (daikon), shredded
1 1/4 cups rice flour
1/4 cup wheat or potato starch
2 pcs Chinese sausages, chopped
5 pcs black mushrooms, hydrated
1 cup dried shrimps, hydrated for 15 mins
2 shallots, thinly sliced
2 cups water (include mushroom soak)
pinch of white pepper and salt to taste

image

Instructions:
1) In a large bowl, mix together rice flour and wheat starch. Set this aside.

2) Add a little oil into a heated wok. Fry the Chinese sausage for a minute or so.

3) Add rehydrated shrimps and fry until fragrant.
image

4) In the same wok, add a little more oil. Fry the shallots until they are soft. Add radish and stir-fry for a couple of minutes. Season with white pepper and salt. Add the chinese sausage and rehydrated shrimps.
image

5) Add water. Cover the wok and cook over medium heat until the radish has turned tender and translucent. This will take about 4-5 minutes.
image

6) Once cooked, transfer this (carefully) into a large bowl. Add the flours and stir to mix.

7) Add the cooked ingredients and stir until well-distributed. You should be able to stir the mixture without needing much force. (If you find that you need to put in quite a bit of effort to stir, add a little water.)
image

8) Transfer the mixture into a lightly greased 7×7-inch pan, or 8-inch round pan, or 2 9×5-inch loaf pans.
image

9) Smooth the tops and steam over high heat for 45 minutes to 1 hour. To test if the cake is done. insert a chopstick into the cake. If it emerges cleanly, then it is ready.
image

10) Cool the cake, wrap with cling film and refrigerate for 4 hours before cutting into pieces and pan-frying them with a little oil. Serve with oyster sauce, ketchup or garlic mayo… take your pick. Enjoy!

image

Leave a Reply

