Kaladkarin Diaries

Ramblings about food, cooking, recipes, travels, history and walking around Manila.

Ngoh Hiong (Five Spice Meat Roll)

I actually forgot its Friday. I was too occupied editing photos until my kid said it was the weekend! So what was the easiest recipe I could think of with all of the ingredient ready? A simple Ngoh Hiong for tonight’s menu was the answer.

Ngoh Hiong has always been serve at all our major family gatherings, and I remember pouring a whole saucer of tomato ketchup for me to dip the meat rolls which my eldest son has picked up after me. We also have some kept frozen so we can just fry them on a lazy day.

There are a lot of recipes for Ngoh Hiong, but I stuck to my ahma’s recipes. There are two kinds actually, one is the ordinary recipe and another for family gatherings. I’ll be sharing the one we make and serve during family gatherings or special occassions. I said I won’t be eating this within the next 6 months because I ate too much of these from different establishments- in one day during a food tour with the CCA (Center for Culinary Arts) group. But I’ll make an exemption since I have to taste what I’m cooking before posting this.

Ingredients:
Beancurd sheet, large size, 2 sheets

Filling:
Minced pork, 1½kg
Whole shrimp, deveined and minced, 500g
Fish paste (white fish used for fishballs mixed with ginger juice), 300g
Firm beancurd, mashed, 1 pc
Red/white onion, finely chopped, large size, 2 pcs
carrot, finely chopped regular size 1 pc
Eggs, ~ 2-3 pcs
oyster sauce, 2 tbsp
Plain flour, as needed if mixture is too wet

Seasoning for filling:
Salt, 2½ tsp
Sugar, ½ tsp
White pepper powder, 2 tsp
five spice powder, 3 tsp

Method:
1. Prepare filling. Place filling ingredients with 2 whole eggs and seasonings in large bowl. Mix well. Add in 3rd egg if mixture is too dry.
image

image

2. Prepare beancurd sheet for rolling. Wipe both sides of beancurd sheets with wet cloth to remove excess salt. Fold and cut into smaller pieces.
image

3. Prepare to wrap. Place around 4 tbsp filling on each prepared beancurd sheet. Roll tightly and seal the free end with some filling. There is options to leave the 2 ends of roll open or seal with filling. You can also use a string to tie it to make sure it doesn’t open when it gets cooked.

image

4. Steam the rolls over high heat for 10 mins. My ahma used to tell me to wait until I smell the aroma of five spice. Allow steamed rolls to cool to room temperature before proceeding to the next step.

image

5. Excess rolls can be stored in freezer at this stage. To serve, frozen rolls to thaw thoroughly before frying, i don’t recommend deep frying. There are two options to fry Ngoh Hiong.
(a) Cut each roll into small sections and deep fry till golden brown.
(b) Deep fry whole roll till golden brown, then cut each into smaller pieces.
*I prefer doing option b since option a dries out everything. Presentation is prettier with option a.

image

6. Plate and serve Ngoh Hiong with either sweet and sour sauce or plain ketchup!

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2015 by in Binondo, cooking, Family Recipes, food, Heirloom, Manila, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
