Kaladkarin Diaries

Ramblings about food, cooking, recipes, travels, history and walking around Manila.

Happy Cream Puff

image

Yummy Cream Puff!

I’ve never been crazy about travelling to Makati, the traffic situation wasn’t really good for my patience. But I had to meet Dave in Makati to visit Happy Cream Puff.

When I arrived at the Malugay branch, Dave showed me the commissary and talked about how the choux pastries were made.

image

staff preparing the puff pastry

image

beautiful aren't they?

image

baked puff pastries

Those aren’t done yet, the staff needs to pipe in custard or chocolate cream fillings in it. Some would be coated with matcha or powdered sugar, some with chocolate. My eyed wandered and saw Croquembouche for sale. Croquembouche is perhaps the most spectacular creation to have come out of the world of French sweets – a towering sculpture of profiteroles filled with crème pâtissière, carefully constructed with toffee/caramel to seal it all together.

image

Croquembouche for sale...

Let me show you some of Happy Cream Puff’s delicious pastries…

image

Chocolate Cream Puff

image

Whipped Cream Puff

image

(L-R) Cookie Butter, Chocolate Almond and Blueberry

Imagine soft, airy profiteroles filled with cold custard filling… pair that with coffee- YUM!

Next stop was the Happy Cream Puff cafe located in Shangrila Mall… I’m not really sure what to expect when I was told the cafe served savory food aside from the yummy cream puffs. So on the way, Dave gave me details about the business. It was founded in 2006 by Mr. & Mrs. Harou and Maricel Yamagashi, and their vision is to make these cream puffs a popular craze like what it was in Japan. Well, I think their product is healthier than donuts. The custard filling is not too sweet, it doesn’t turn you off and makes you want more.

image

Shangrila Branch

Upon entering, the cafe supervisor greeted us with a smile and ushered us to our seats. Meanwhile, I quietly surveyed the space, tables and cleanliness of the establishment.

image

Cozy and clean interiors...

image

simple and nice interiors...

It has a peaceful vibe at the Happy Cream Puff cafe, good place to meet up for lunch or dinner, maybe have a meeting or just enjoy some sweet cream puffs with the kids. I was taking a mental note of the interiors, when I was handed 2 menus.

image

Cream puff and beverage menu

image

Menu for the savory section...

I couldn’t help but take a photo of the small croquembouche.

image

croquembouche

I was suprised to see the savory menu… they pretty much have the usual pasta and sandwiches that other cafes offer, but I decided to try them out.

image

Chocolate Supreme Shake and Iced Matcha

These two drinks really hits the spot on a hot summer day… Iced matcha is my favorite, and I highly recommend it .

image

Chicken Karaage

This Chicken Karaage surprised me, it was crispy outside and juicy inside. I was expecting plain gravy to go with it, but got something much better. The sauce was tangy with sesame seeds, perfect for the chicken and the side veggies.

image

Carbonara Pasta

This is not your usual Carbonara Pasta… This was so creamy but not in a bland sort of way. Flavors of the bacon, creamy with umami flavors present.

image

Mixed Sandwich

The Mixed Sandwich is good for two and a very good choice if you’re just looking for a quick snack while reading or chatting.

Like my other posts, everything has to come to an end. I met the friendly and accomodating staff of Happy Cream Puff, and thanked them too. I’m sure they’ll take care of you the same way they accomodated me during my visit.

image

The wonderful and friendly staff

I took home a box of cream puffs with strict instructions:
Consume immediately. When in room temperature, these cream puffs can only stand for at least 3 hours. Shelf life lengthens when refrigerated and can be stored for 2 days. I do recommend you eat it when it’s fresh or after refrigeration, so that the custard is cold when you take bite.

image

more petit cream puffs... aren't they pretty?

Too many flavors to choose from!
My top favorites are — Matcha Cashew and Blueberry
More than 20 flavors to choose from. So if I were you, get a box with all flavors!

image

petit cream puffs

HAPPY CREAM PUFF
Branches:
5/F Shangri-la Plaza, East Wing, Edsa cor. Shaw Blvd., Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila, Philippines

7224 Malugay st. cor. Buendia, Bel-Air, Makati City

Delivery Hotline: 817-4234 / 707-1263

Free delivery in Makati selected areas; Can deliver in Taguig, Pasay and Manila with 10% delivery service charge

Operating Hours: 10am-9pm

Website: http://www.happycreampuff.com/

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/Happycreampuff2006

Leave a Reply

