Kaladkarin Diaries

Ramblings about food, cooking, recipes, travels, history and walking around Manila.

Third Space Studio Cafe

I remember browsing the internet and seeing a photo of a cafe. The owners apparently created a “memory wall” inside their establishment. Normally I would have just ignored, but something caught my attention. There were old portraits of 2 couples on each corner of the “memory wall”. Those photos made me take a screenshot to show my friend, Mike.

“Is it calling you?” I remember Mike asking me that question when I couldn’t stop talking about the cafe’s memory wall. Either he thinks I’m nuts or I’m hungry… ๐Ÿ™‚

Fast forward a couple of days, I joined Mike and another birdwatcher friend, Jops to check out Tunasan Baywalk in Muntinlupa City. The veteran birders were trying to ID the birds in the area, while I listen to how they do it. It took me awhile, but it was fun when you get the hang of it. I don’t have photos of the birds since I don’t have the kind of camera they were using to capture those beautiful but elusive birdies.

After bird watching, as Jops drove the car back to Manila via SLEX, Mike suddenly asked if I wanted to go to Banawe. I think I heard myself squeal inside my head when he asked and I immediately replied “yes”. So from Tunasan, Jops drove all the way to QC for that cafe. None of us have been to that place, armed with Waze and google maps, we went Dora the Explorer ย (one of them- Mike or Jops can either be Diego or Boots!)

img1471935698624.jpg

Directions to Third Space Studio Cafe

The map pointed us to turn right on NS Amoranto Sr. Street from Banawe Street. And there it was, just adjacent to Tasty Dumplings. They have parking space!!! (that’s something you don’t see much here in Binondo… hehehe)

bimuevrjuqf.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

My eyes caught 25 waving cats to my left, welcoming me in as I enter the cafe (oh, they’re moving all at the same time- too bad i don’t have a video!)

bjpwzrfh0l5.jpg

photo credits: Third Space Studio Cafe

Upon entering, you can immediately feel the cozy interiors. You won’t see the usual boring cafe furniture. Everything is all artsy inside.

img_20160823_173640.jpg

photo credit: Mike Lu

See that wall over there? That’s the “memory wall” where you can find old photos of the owners’ family. Mike was able to capture the same photo that caught my attention. The portrait of a young couple on the upper right of the memory wall was the same photo that roused my interest. And it turned out to be one of the owner’s grandparents.

Jops, Mike and I decided to order before taking photos of the interiors. Staff are accommodating and fast with service. Their menu is a fusion of Filipino and Chinese food, they also offer coffee, frappes and milk tea.

img_20160822_155034.jpg

Third Space Studio Cafe Menu

While waiting for our orders, we went ahead and took photographs of the place. Third Space has a unique aura to its interiors, a mix of vintage and bohemian. It was designed by Rachelle Uy Aguell who by profession is an Interior Designer, while the decor and furniture pieces were made by her husband- an artist, Yuseff Aguell. The marriage of the couple’s artistic talents produced a cozy space where people can enjoy meals, have a coffee date in the afternoon or simply hang out after dinner with friends or family.

img_20160822_161603.jpg

photo credit: Mike Lu

img_20160822_161523.jpg

photo credit: Mike Lu

img_20160822_155827.jpg

more vintage stuff…

Remember the “memory wall” I was mentioning earlier? Well, let’s get a closer look.

img_20160822_155400.jpg

The customers were already coming so I had to be careful in taking photos… I don’t want anyone complaining that I hit their head or whatever…

img_20160822_160625.jpg

Dinner Time

img_20160822_155635.jpg

When the heck was the last time you saw a wooden horse?!

I was actually squealing inside when I saw this old wooden horse! When was the last time you saw a vintage wooden horse?! Not the ones manufactured nowadays, but the ones made by hand and not machines???! Last time I saw one was two decades ago!!!

img_20160822_063612.jpg

The portrait that I was drawn to…

My attention was drawn to an old engagement photo of a couple in the cafe when I first saw the photo on the internet… and a few days later, I was able to take a photo of the portrait for myself. This was the engagement photo of Rachelle’s grandparents circa 1948.

img_20160822_155531.jpg

The other side of the “memory wall”

On the left side of the “memory wall” are the portraits of Yuseff’s grandparents. You might see a few pieces which aren’t vintage, but the owners did a great job mixing the old and the new.

bjncd9vgmzi.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

Near our table is a door that had two dragon heads. I was wondering where the doors led (yes, I’m too curious). I was told it was the door to access their outdoor space and basketball court. It was already dark and raining, so I didn’t have the chance to take a photo.

img_20160822_160004.jpg

We had to occupy table #8 ahahahaha

Mike pretended he didn’t see me taking photos… (he saw me, he intentionally posed that way! No, I’m just kidding!) It was Jops who had absolutely no idea I was taking a photo.

img_20160822_160217.jpg

My Caramel Macchiato

Service time was just right, not too long. Servers were nice, quick and accommodating. I like the Caramel Macchiato they served me, it’s something I’d like to order again the next time. Not too sweet, it was just right.

img_20160822_160157.jpg

Third Space Studio Cafe Lechon Sisig

I ordered the cafe’s Lechon Sisig. I like Lechon, I also like Sisig… put them together and I go to porky heaven. There are some places who tried combining these two yummy things together but ended up with a big epic fail. Sometimes condiments like vinegar (if can’t cook using vinegar right, get out of the kitchen) can elevate or ruin two good things. I heard the recipe was from Rachelle’s husband, Yuseff ๐Ÿ™‚

Mike ordered the cafe’s Fish Fillet (not bad according to our emperor) and Peach Iced tea with almond jelly (… or at least something similar to that). While Jops went for the Nori Burger ย (which I heard from Jops was good) and brewed coffee (needs a little more kick though).

img_5474.jpg

photo credit: Mike Lu

biu7tqyhlag.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

Here are some more of the food that they offer in the cafe:

bjzhw6hhi1l.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

bihznptbu6f.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

bi1jfkzju4y.jpg

photo credit: Third Space Studio Cafe

Overall, our dining experience was very good. You get ambiance, value for your money and a quick trip back to memory lane.

img_20160822_160843.jpg

photo credit: Mike Lu

We ended the evening with a photo with Rachelle, (that photo clearly means I have to hit the gym… ASAP!) But I will go back to Third Space Studio Cafe with family and friends, a place worth dining and visiting.

 

Third Space Studio Cafe

Address: 1105, 587 N.S. Amoranto Sr. St, Brgy Siena,

Quezon City, Metro Manila

Open: 11:30am to 21:30pm Mon-Sun

 

 

 

 

 

6 comments on “Third Space Studio Cafe

  1. E
    August 23, 2016

    Such a beautiful post! Thank you so much for sharing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rache
      August 23, 2016

      you’re welcome… the place is so nice not to share ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. Gema Ngo
    September 14, 2016

    Based on the photos it seems like an old manila meets old binondo hotel. Can’t wait to visit when I’m in Q.C.! Kudos to a very informative and entertaining post ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  3. thesassychinita
    January 15, 2017

    do they have WIFI too??

    Like

Leave a Reply

